Fix a cobbled together Folder Action?

Hi,

I’ve been trying to cobble together a Folder Action script, using pieces of Apple supplied scripts … but … surprise surprise, I can’t get it to work. Although, it does at least complile!! :slight_smile:

I’m a photographer and I use a piece of software which doesn’t embed a colorsync profile, so what I want, is files which are sent to a specific folder in the Finder, to be ‘matched’ (converted from) one profile to another … or if they already have a profile, then to be left alone, if it’s the right one, or converted to the right one if it’s not.

To this end I have canibalised the Colorsync scripts (installed with every MacOS install these days), but as I said, it doesn’t work. Could anyone show me where I’m going wrong?

(FWIW, this is quite typical of the dissapointment of Automator, which I have to say, I expected. There is a Colorsync ‘action’ but it is only capable of ‘enbedding’ a profile, not of converting from one to another. So the whole beauty and simplicity and promise of Automator falls apart. Suddenly I need to be an Applescript programmer to make my workflow. :frowning: )

Many thanks for any help.

Grant

This is what I have so far :

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving these_items
try
repeat with i from 1 to number of items in these_items
set thisFile to item i of these_items
tell application “ColorSyncScripting”
set openImage to open thisFile
set profCount to count of every profile of openImage
end tell
if profCount is 0 then
set sourceProf to profile “Adobe RGB (1998) Profile”
set destProf to profile “sRGB Profile”
match thisFile from source sourceProf to destination destProf
end tell
end if
if profCount is 1 and profName is not “Adobe RGB (1998) Profile” then
set sourceProf to (profile 1 of currImage)
match thisFile from source sourceProf to destination destProf
end tell
end if
end repeat
end try
end adding folder items to

Hi Jacques,