Fixing iTunes M3U handling gone awry

I am very new to AppleScript, but I am an experience programmer.

Many of you may have noticed the awful way that iTunes handles .m3u playlists of remote files. It tries to add them to the main library as if they were local songs, and as soon as the first file of the .m3u is played its metadata is retrieved and the song is moved into the same order as the rest of the library, effectively moving it away from the other tracks in the .m3u so that you can never play a .m3u file in order.

I found the script below and it was working perfectly until the 7.6 update. The script creates a new playlist named for the current date and time and then adds the tracks to it in the original order. Here’s the code:

on open m3uFileList
	tell application "iTunes"
		activate
		set newPlaylist to make new user playlist
		set name of newPlaylist to (current date) as string
		repeat with m3uFile in m3uFileList
			add m3uFile to newPlaylist
		end repeat
		play newPlaylist
	end tell
end open

When this script runs now I get the following error:

I can’t for the life of me figure out what is going wrong. The line that appears to be causing this problem is “add m3uFile to newPlaylist”.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Use duplicate when adding to a playlist. Not logical, but it’s the verb that works! :slight_smile:

EDIT: I realized after posting that I missed that you’re adding a local file, not a track. You probably need to add the file to library playlist 1 and then use duplicate to copy it to the playlist you’re building.

The following code produces the same error:

add m3uFile to library playlist 1
end repeat

If I skip the repeat list and just try to add the m3uFileList to the library playlist 1 I get a “Parameter Error.”

This is incredibly frustrating. :frowning: