Folder Action to make new folder with selected item

First of all I’m a beginner in AppleScript. Second, my first language is french. So i’ll try my best to be clear.

I created a simple folder action to get all the items i have selected, move them in a new folder named with the first item selected (without extension) inside the folder action. For example if i select item 1, 2 and 3 and drag them on the folder action, it create a folder named “item 1” inside my folder action with item 1, 2 and 3 inside. Works great the first time but the second time i try it take couple of seconds to run and i wonder why. Any help would be very appreciated!!!

Here is my script:

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving these_items
	tell application "Finder"
		set myFirstItem to name of first item of these_items as text
		set myOldDelims to AppleScript's text item delimiters
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to "."
		set myFolderName to first text item of myFirstItem
		set AppleScript's text item delimiters to myOldDelims
		set myDestFolder to (make new folder at this_folder with properties {name:myFolderName})
		move these_items to myDestFolder with replace
	end tell
end adding folder items to

Thanks in advance for the help.

Folder actions are notoriously unreliable. That may be the problem right there. It may be just a side effect of being a folder action.

Some other things:

1. The Finder can perform tasks slowly too if it is busy doing something else… which it often is… so I wouldn’t perform any tasks with the Finder if it’s not needed. Note that system events can get the name of a file so I would use that instead.
  2. “name” is already text, so you don’t need to coerce it to text.

As such you might try your code like this…

tell application "System Events"
		set myFirstItem to name of first item of these_items
	end tell

set myDestFolder to (make new folder at this_folder with properties {name:myFolderName})