From PC to MAC - Scripting help and a kick in the right direction

Hi There,

For 2 years now i have been using Parralels on my MAC to run some simple macros to do my repetitive renaming and copying tasks for me. Recently my company has asked that I wind down using parallels as the new outlook for MAC is good enough to implement so they are trying to phase out windows.

Having no objections to what OS I use i need to find the best way to rewrite my automation scripts using a mac.

I have purchased a couple of books on AppleScript but am not overly excited by its over use of vocab and what seems like long winded ways of doing things. I am not a programmer or even a good scripter, I am actually a video editor that spent a couple of years on a computing degree so i have some basic knowledge of programming etc… anyways, I am looking for some guidnace in the best way to do things and for someone to take a look at my workflow and suggest some methods to help out!

I used a AutoHotKey to write my macros in windows and it gave me a simple GUI with options to process the correct files and send files to the correct locations…

I dont need to have a GUI but was looking to have a workflow like this:

Have a designated export folder for my video files. Once it has exported to this folder i want a copy to be renamed and sent to a network folder, then an option box that gives me the option of archiving and encoding or quitting… click archive and encode would send a version of this file to a local hard disk in a dated archive folder and also send the version to another network folder (encoder).

How would i do this?

I found this and adjusted it slightly and it kinda works but doesn’t copy the file over correctly…

on adding folder items to this_folder after receiving added_item
	set video_folder to "GLYPH-1500 GB:FcpExportsArchive:"
	set target_folder to "GLYPH-1500 GB:FcpExportsArchive:" & (do shell script "date +%m%d%y")
	try
		get target_folder as alias
	on error