FTP all files from a group of Directories with current date

I will start by saying I am fairly new to AppleScript. I have really only written one script and that was with some help from this forum. I am going to take a shot at my second script now to automate another task I have to perform. I am hoping that I can get some insight on the best direction to go with this.

Inside of FolderA there are a group of folders. Inside each of these folders are other files and folders. And inside those folders are Files. So it goes three levels deep at the most. I need to scan through these folders and grab all the files with ‘today’s date’. The each of these files should be FTPed to a location with the same directory structure and placed into the proper folder.

I have been reading a lot online about different FTP options. It seems that one was discontinued as of Lion and I am running Mavericks. So, it seems that my best bet is going with do script and using either FTP or CURL. Neither one will upload a directory so I am forced to upload each file individually. I know FTP well but really haven’t used CURL before. But, curl appears to be the more popular method with applescript. Is there a reason for using curl over FTP with my scenario.

This is the workflow I have in mind right now:

set LocalDirectory
set RemoteDirectory

Get list of Folders
REPEAT for each FOLDER in LIST
	CD to Directory
		Get list of Files with today's date
			if list NOT NULL
				Set Directory to LocalDirectory+
				Set RemoteDirectory+
					REPEAT for each FILE in LIST
						FTP file
					END REPEAT			
END REPEAT

Is there a better method to go with solving this problem?

In the end I will run this script on a trigger that runs it a couple of times per week at a specific time.

Thanks for any direction.

I started working on this script off of my workflow. I haven’t got to the actual FTP portion so I am still interested in thoughts on that method.