getting a picture's resolution

I am a beginner applescripter, and have recently moved to os x and am trying to get the
resolution of a chosen image. Here’s what I got, but it does not return the resolution.
Thanks for any advice.

display dialog "resolution: " & getResolution() buttons {“OK”} default button 1

on getResolution()
set theImage to choose file
tell application “Image Events”
launch
set theImageReference to open theImage
tell theImageReference
return resolution
end tell
end tell
end getResolution

Todd

Model: imac g4
Browser: Safari 312.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.3.9)

Hi Todd

welcome :slight_smile:

Image Events is a bit tricky

display dialog "resolution: " & getResolution() buttons {"OK"} default button 1

on getResolution()
	set theImage to choose file
	tell application "Image Events"
		launch
		try
			open theImage
			set {x, y} to resolution of image 1
			close image 1
			return (x as text) & " x " & y as text
		on error
			try
				close image 1
			end try
			return "couldn't get resolution of " & name of (info for theImage)
		end try
	end tell
end getResolution

I tried using Image Event to extract the resolution from image file, it works fine with TIFF and JPEG; but not EPS. (Have not tried on other file types yet)

May I know how to overcome this issue? (As EPS is one of the most commomly used image file type.)

Thanks!

Hi cits,

I am far from being a DTP expert, but my understanding is that EPS files are resolution-independent, as it is a vector format.

EPS can be raster, vector or both. SIPS and Image Events are pretty much on and the same thing and will not touch this file format.