Getting name of frontmost application

Hi everyone,

I did a search here and found a number of topics on this but none of them gave me exactly the result I wanted. What I’m looking for is an Applescript that will give me the name of the frontmost application. I’m using an application (menufela) that hides the menubar, which I like, but it makes it a tad annoying to figure out which app is frontmost, so I’m looking for a script to do it (i’d display the script with Geektool).

My search turned up this:

tell application "Finder" to ¬
	name of file (path to frontmost application as text)

The problem is it results in “the application name.app” Is there a way to remove the “.app” part from the result?

Sorry if this is a really dumb question… I’m a complete noob…:rolleyes:

Thank you for your help,
-Pascal

Try this, Pascal:

short name of (info for (path to frontmost application))

Excellent. That does exactly what I want. :slight_smile:
Edit:
Hmm… For most applications it works perfectly, but for some, like CandyBar it returns “missing value” I assume this is because CandyBar doesn’t have a short name for some reason. I thought maybe I could have the script use the regular name method (with the “.app”) if the result was “missing value” but what I tried doesn’t change anything…

set shortname to short name of (info for (path to frontmost application))

if shortname is "missing value" then
	set longname to name of (info for (path to frontmost application))
	set output to longname
else
	set output to shortname
end if

Any ideas on how to either fix this script or make a different one that works with Candybar?

Thanks!
-Pascal

Try this:

set N to name of (info for (alias "ACB-G5_1:Applications:Drawing:CandyBar:CandyBar.app:"))
set {d, text item delimiters} to {text item delimiters, "."}
set sN to first text item of N
set text item delimiters to d
sN --> CandyBar

There’s also:

tell application "System Events" to name of first process where it is frontmost