Getting the value of a multi selection in Excel

I have been dabbling in scripting for a while now but I am very new to scripting in Excel and although I have something that works, it has a serious flaw letting it down. The script I have gets the value from column A and column B of a selected row in an Excel worksheet and prepares it for importing into a text box in Adobe Indesign. The Excel part of the script basically looks like this:

tell application “Microsoft Excel”
set DataSelection to the selection
set myImportData to {}
set RowCount to the count of rows of DataSelection
repeat with x from 1 to RowCount
tell row x of DataSelection
set myKeyCode to the string value of cell 1
set myDescription to the string value of cell 2
end tell
set myImportData to myImportData & (myKeyCode & return & return & myDescription)
end repeat
end tell

It works a treat if your selection is a series of rows immediately next to one another (eg. all rows 1 thru 12), but the moment you make a multi-selection of rows in excel (eg. rows 1, 3, 4, 5, 12) the script falls over.

I have gone right back to basics and the following script will count the selected rows successfully if it is a series of rows but the moment you make a multi-selection it only returns 1:

tell application “Microsoft Excel”
set mySelection to the selection
return the count of rows of mySelection
end tell

This is driving me nuts, I must be missing something very basic in the way I address and call information from the rows in Excel.

When working with discontinous ranges in Excel, one needs to loop through the Areas collection.

tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	repeat with DataSelection in (get areas of the selection)
		set myImportData to {}
		set RowCount to the count of rows of DataSelection
		repeat with x from 1 to RowCount
			tell row x of DataSelection
				set myKeyCode to the string value of cell 1
				set myDescription to the string value of cell 2
			end tell