GUI scripting with Garageband X- Can't identify button

Hi all, I’m new to this applescript and its looking all quite interesting. I have been playing around with Garageband and wanted to be able to script the turning on and off of the pedals for the guitar rig. You can add different pedals (that have different arrangements of buttons and sliders on each pedal) and reorder their position.

This is the basic script to turn on the first pedal in the series of pedals

activate application "GarageBand"
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "GarageBand"
		click button 4 of window 1
	end tell
end tell

This is the inspector details for the button on the pedal
<AXApplication: “GarageBand”>
<AXWindow: “Guitar 1”>
<AXButton: “”>

Attributes:
AXRole: “AXButton”
AXRoleDescription: “button”
AXHelp: “(null)”
AXEnabled: “1”
AXFocused (W): “0”
AXParent: “<AXWindow: “Guitar 1”>”
AXWindow: “<AXWindow: “Guitar 1”>”
AXTopLevelUIElement: “<AXWindow: “Guitar 1”>”
AXPosition: “x=664.603 y=265.767”
AXSize: “w=76 h=66”
AXTitle: “”
AXIdentifier: “_NS:380”

Actions:
AXPress - press

I have been able to turn the buttons on using applescript, but the problem is that if you move the position of a pedal, the buttons are not referenced to pedal, but the position where the button is located relative to the other buttons on the other pedals.

ie: button 4 turns on pedal A, button 7 turns on pedal B, button 9 turns of pedal C
(A,B,C)

If you move pedal C in front of pedal A (C,A,B), then button 4 turns on C, but now (for example) button 6 turns on pedal A and button 8 turns on pedal B

Using the Accessibility Inspector, I can move the pedal into a different position and it will still identify with the button. How do I translate this into the script? I can’t seem to find any unique identifier for the button itself! I thought it might be the AXidentifier, but all the buttons have the same identity.

Thanks all for your help, i think my post has been a bit long winded!

Richard