Help converting my script to Droplet

Hi all, I’m new to Applescripting, and thanks to this site so far the learning curve has been reasonably painless.

Bascialy I have found myself stuck trying to convert my script into a droplet. The guts of the script is that it reads in a folder containing an image sequence of type abc.0001.ext and returns …/path…/abc.#.ext for command line rendering.

If you guys had any suggests for optimising this and helping my with syntax for a droplet I’d be a happy man. :wink:

Thanks!

on run
	tell application "Finder"
		set the_path to choose folder
		set range to (number of files in folder the_path)
		set first_file_path to item 1 in folder the_path
		set the first_file_name to (the name of the first_file_path) as string
	end tell

--set scaling factor
	set question_scale to "enter scaling percentage (0-100%)"
	set ans_scale to text returned of (display dialog question_scale default answer "100")

--strip off suffix and number padding
	set item_length to length of first_file_name
	set the base_name to (characters 1 thru (item_length - 9) of first_file_name) as string --removes padding & suffix from end of filename
	set the extension to (characters (item_length - 3) thru (item_length) of first_file_name) as string

--set file_out name for command line
	set the_path to POSIX path of the_path
	set file_out to (the_path & base_name & ".#" & extension)

--run shake script
	tell application "Terminal"
		activate
		set shakescript to "shake " & file_out & " -z " & (ans_scale * 0.01) & " -t 1-" & range
		set windowCount to (count of the windows)
		if windowCount is greater than 0 then
			repeat with w from 1 to windowCount
				if window w is busy then
					set frontmost of window w to false
				else
					do script shakescript in window w
					set frontmost of window w to true
					return
				end if
			end repeat
		end if
		tell window 1
			do script shakescript
			set frontmost to true
		end tell
	end tell
end run

Hi john,

try this

on run