Help with adding bonjour printers using applescript

Hi

I have a full lab of iMacs which they need to have 3 network printers. The printers can be seen as bonjour on the IMac. I would love to automate the adding by using an applescript.

Can anyone present an applescript for adding three bonjour printers?

Hello and welcome! :slight_smile:

Have you searched for some bits and pieces?

Or, can you try to describe what you are after in some more detail?

I have very little experience with Bonjour, and therefore it could be fun trying to help you out.

hi,

Most of the new printers such as Epsons, and Dell, etc. they all come with a protocol that allows Mac computers to discover them on the network. But, this is not the issue. The issue is to create an applescript that will go to print and fax to mount three specific printers.

For example, when opening the print & fax application, one gets the choice to add printers. After clicking on the “+” symbol a dialogue box opens given the opportunity to choose from the default tab, fax, ip and/or windows.

At this point, by selecting default tab, one can choose the printer or printers to be mounted. The printers that I need to be mounted are shown here, as they were discover by the bonjour protocol. All I need is to automate this process everytime the users logs into twenty-five iMacs.

As you can see, this is a classroom of twenty-five computers. The students should not need to worry about mounting printers, or adding printers, but to be able to click on the print option and go.

Do you have any experiences with applescript? And could you show an example for mounting the three network printers during login process?

Thanks

During the login process, from a users point of view yes!