Help with alias

Hi there. I’m a newbie to Applescript though I’ve managed a few simple, successful ones, based largly upon the help I’ve received digging though old post on this site.

I’m currently working on a script that will take a set of text files in a folder (and in folders within that folder) and import them into an existing Filemaker database. I know how to get a list of the files from the finder and I know how to tell Filemaker to run the import script. The piece that I’m not sure of is how to get Filemaker to understand the list of files. I gather (from reading other people’s scripts posted here) that what I need to do is to set the list of files to an alias. What I don’t get is what “set to alias” actually does. I’m hesitant to post the code I’m working on because I don’t want someone to just fix it for me. What I’m looking for is an explaination of this command so I can actually understand my own code.

Can anyone please point me to tutorial that would explain this? My searches haven’t been helpful.

Thanks!

Can you post the relevant portion of code that deals with FileMaker importing the records? There are two ways I can think to do this
and depending on which your choosing depends on how you do the rest. In terms of worrying people are just going to post a solution I wouldn’t worry much since you spelled it out that that is not what you are looking for.

Hi, scriptbug.

There are several different ways of referring to files and folders and their locations, which can be useful under different circumstances. The two standard ways used by the AppleScript language are the “alias” and the “file specification”. These can both refer to files, folders, or volumes. They look very similar on the page, but their compiled data are different.

Alias:
alias “My HD:Users:me:Desktop:My file.txt”