Help with documentation

Hi. I’m relatively new to Applescripting “ I started about three months ago “ and I’ve managed to create an absolute monster of a script. It takes an Excel spreadsheet, runs the data through an Excel template that sorts it into several CSV files, edits the CSV files to get rid of a few consistent problems, and then runs each of those files through a second set of spreadsheets which tag the data with Xpress tags. It then imports the tagged files into Quark 6 templates, exports each page of those as an individually named EPS and converts those files into PDFs which are sorted by two criteria. It’s long and complicated, and to the untrained eye quite scary.

The thing is, I need to be able to hand over the script to other people “ quite possibly people with little or no experience of Applescript but at least with a basic understanding of the principles of programming. I’m trying to write a document that would help someone understand what the script does and pinpoint which parts they would need to edit if anything changed. Does anyone have any useful advice, and are there any things you would expect from that sort of document?

Thanks in advance,
M

Handing maintenance over to someone else is always a difficult thing to do smoothly. My focus would be on making the code as readable as possible.

Part of this is consistency of style, but the part I like to focus the most on is making small chunks of code (handlers are a must) that use descriptive names that read fairly well. Sometimes this means tearing out a gnarly piece of code and putting it into its own handler so you can replace a that big chunk of code with a simple call to a handler with a nice descriptive name.