help with linking data

Hi everyone,

I am very new to Cocoa. However, I am willing and eager to solve this problem on my own. All I want to know is the “way” to solve it.

There are some countries (the number of countries will keep increasing).
Each country has some cities (the number of cities is not constant)
Each city has a river (again, (the number of rivers will keep increasing)

I want that if I select a country “A” in ComboBox1/PopUpButton1, then ComboBox2/PopUpButton2 must show a list of cities belonging to country “A” only and not other countries. Likewise, after a city is selected, only the rivers belonging to that city must be seen in ComboBox3/PopUpButton3.

Please, tell me the basics like how I must create my arrays, dictionaries and should I use ComboBox or PopUpButton?

Thanks.

That depends on whether you want the user to be able to enter new values.

yes, the user must be able to enter new values and they should be available for auto-completion next time.

I’m bound to say you’ve picked a fairly complex place to start. My suggestion would be to start off by making an array of countries and getting one combobox working how you want. Then move on to adding others. There’s really no one right way – it depends a bit on what you are doing with the data, and so on.

Thanks for the reply, Shane.
To simplify the problem, let us say I do not want to add new items and I shall use pop up buttons for countries and cities.
I have a country array and cities array containing country and city names respectively.
How do I make them talk to each other? If one country is selected in countryPopUpButton, how do I have only the cities belonging to that country available in the cityPopUpButton. Do I have to create a mess of arrays such that each country has its own city array?

(Would learning how to use “Relationships” in Core Data help with such kind of problem?)

I was under the impression AppleScriptObjC can’t use core data.