Help with notifications on text view updates

I’m just getting into a complex ASObjC project for the first time. I’m trying to trigger a handler/method when a scrolling text view is updated. The NSTextView has a NSTextDidChangeNotification, which I’m trying to trigger a method on when the text in the field is updated.

Here’s the relevant code that’s NOT working:

on applicationWillFinishLaunching_(aNotification)
        tell current application's NSWorkspace to set theWorkspace to sharedWorkspace()
        set notifCenter to theWorkspace's notificationCenter()
        tell notifCenter to addObserver_selector_name_object_(me, "didChangeTextNotification:", "NSTextDidChangeNotification", missing value)
end applicationWillFinishLaunching_

on didChangeTextNotification_(aNotification)
        log "controlTextDidChange_"
end didChangeTextNotification_

on applicationShouldTerminate_(sender)
        stopObserving_(me)
		return current application's NSTerminateNow
end applicationShouldTerminate_

I have also bound the appropriate NSTextView to the script as a delegate.

When I run the code, I get no logged errors on setting up the observer, so that seems to be all right. But updating the text does not trigger the didChangeTextNotification_ handler.

Additionally, when I quit the app, I get this error from the stopObserving_ handler:

Hi,

NSTextDidChangeNotification is sent by the standard NSNotificationCenter (not the one that belongs to NSWorkspace).
Setting the observer is actually not necessary, there is a delegate method as part of NSTextDelegate Protocol.

stopObserving must be a custom method, which is missing in the app delegate class

Thank you, StefanK!

My new code is MUCH simpler (provided here for fellow noobs):

on textDidChange_(aNotification)
        log "Text has changed"
        end textDidChange_

One additional question: How do I restrict this delegate handler to a specific text view, rather than all delegated views?

the object of the notification