Help writing a metronome program.

I’m fairly new to applescript and writing my first applescript based program in xcode which is to included a delay time calculator and tap tempo finder both of which I’ve managed to sort out without too much trouble, where I’m coming unstuck is trying to implement a metronome function (that beeps acuratly so many times a minute) and I’d appreciate a push in the right direction. The tap tempo function I did using a getmillisec scripting addition but i can’t figure a way of using that for a metronome. Is there another command that’d be more use? Any help gratefully appreciated.

Plain AppleScript only offers “delay”, and the minimum interval is 1 second. So, you’ll need third-party help, for example GetMilliSec or “the ticks” from Jon’s Commands. Eg:
(1000 milliseconds = 1 second)

Or:
(60 ticks = 1 second)

But this method is not very safe, since any slow-down in the computer can break it, and it is very CPU-intensive. Perhaps you need something as “smilepause”, but this command is only available to the Smile environment:

Perhaps somebody can recommend any obj-C method similar to “smilepause”?

Thanks alot for your help, managed to get it sorted with that, the only problem I’m now finding is that with faster tempos (seemly anything above about 120bpm/500ms) the timing starts stuttering every few beats, it gets progressively worse as tempos increase. I suspect this is due to the amount of system load as the ms value gets smaller, but is there anyway around this as obviously timing accuracy is the whole point of metronome and 120 bpm isn’t that fast as a tempo. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I suspect you may be out of luck with this. Scripting additions themselves are fairly “expensive” calls, such that a milliseconds-osax command can’t be any more accurate or faster than the time it takes AppleScript to call it, and vanilla AppleScript provides no means of date/time support more accurate than one whole second.