hide a browser while still automating search action?

I am not very experienced writing applescripts and I want to know if it is possible to automatically open a webpage, enter a command, and save the result, without actually seeing the actions take place. To be more specific I want to open the google image searchpage and enter a random word from a given list and save one of the resulting pictures. Has someone written a very similar script? Thanks.
M

Alright, here’s a script to do this. I had to make assumptions. For one, I assumed that you wanted to download the image associated with the first hit. For another, I didn’t know how you wanted to enter the words to search for. Feel free to clarify.

Anyway, the best way to handle your request is to script the shell to do it, and in this case I’ll use perl. Here’s the perl script that will handle most of the chore:

if(`curl -A "Mozilla/4.0" "http://images.google.com/images?q=whatever&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en&btnG=Google+Search"` =~ /imgurl=([^&]+)/){chdir "/tmp/"; `curl -A "Mozilla/4.0" -O $1`}else{die}

The ‘-A “Mozilla/4.0”’ part fools Google into allowing us to download the files we need via the command line tool ‘curl’. Google’s user agreement doesn’t allow automated searches of its database, and its site considers requests from ‘curl’ to the sort of automation it doesn’t allow.

We’ll use ‘curl’ to download the two files we’ll need in the course of the script. The ‘curl’ command and its parameters are enclosed in backticks (`) because (as I read Arthur Knapp’s explanation one time, and liked) it’s perl’s version of ‘do shell script’. It runs a shell tool and returns the result in place.

The ‘=~’ part is an operator that AppleScript doesn’t have which says, “Does the regular expression on the right side match the text on the left side?” and returns true or false depending.

In the ‘curl’ command, ‘whatever’ is our search term. In the final script, we’ll be able to substitute in whatever search term we want.