Hide Folders / Applications

Hi all,

I am very new to writing Applescript and also to these forums. I have done some searching on this topic but I haven’t found a conclusive answer that works yet, and was hoping someone would be able to help.

This may seem very simple, but as said I am new to this… :smiley:

In my Applications, and Utilities Files I have various applications and utilities that have been installed on my machine. In my dock I have placed both applications and utilities files to fan out to show what is available. Now, several of the items in these files, (while being a vital and necessary item to have installed) clog up the files, and therefore I am try to write an Applescript to hide these items.

I have read several articles about hiding running processes, but I simply want to hide dormant apps and utilities.

My idea would be to write a script that hides all the files I want to hide in one go, and then write a second to make them visible again when needed. I would then look to run the scripts in Automator to enable me to run them via Finder.

Can anyone help please ?

Many thanks

• Neil Holmes

Model: Mac Book Pro 17" C2D
Browser: Safari
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)

I posted a few ways to accomplish this in the following thread…
http://bbs.macscripter.net/viewtopic.php?id=19260

Just another option to the above post.
If you place your applications and utilities that you want to make invisible in a folder, this would work…

try
-- Note: I named the folder in the Applications folder 'Extra Applications'.
tell application "System Events" to set visible of folder ":Applications:Extra Applications:" of startup disk to false
-- Note: I named the folder in the Utilities folder 'Extra Utilities'.
tell application "System Events" to set visible of folder ":Applications:Utilities:Extra Utilities:" of startup disk to false
do shell script "killall Finder"
end try
tell application "System Events" to quit

This script will make the folders visible…

try