How can I get the file name?

First off, I am very new at this and have never done anything like it before. Also, I’ve been looking through the forums hoping to find an answer to my question. I haven’t found an exact match yet, though I will continue looking through the 400+ pages.

I’ll try and explain everything I’m trying to do right off the bat. I would like to drag a file onto the script (using on open, right?), then get the file name and probably store it as a variable, then append the file with a pre set string after the original file name and before the extension. I know I can use keystroke to input the string I want, but how do I put the string between the original file name and it’s extension?

for example (exactly what I’m doing): i drag my input file (named “AA_12.pdf”) onto the script, then it appends 1-12, the final output being named “AA_12-1-12.pdf” I will then do it again instead appending 2-11 so on and so on.

I hope I have made everything clear, let me know if I haven’t. Thanks for anyone’s help, I look forward to becoming a part of this community.

e: does this forum have an irc channel? or could someone point me to one elsewhere?

I’m not quite certain I understand what you want to add to the end of the filename. I know it’s “1-12” but then what?

Each time a new file is dropped do you want to increase/decrease {2-11,3-10,4-9,.} or do you only want to change the preset for additional files being processed on the initial drop? (Hopefully that makes sense)

Anyways here’s a example to get you started that will add the “1-12” to every file that’s dropped on it.

on open fileList
	set preSet to "1-12"
	tell application "Finder"
		repeat with i from 1 to count of items of fileList
			set nameExt to name extension of (item i of fileList)
			set oldName to text 1 through -((count nameExt) + 2) of (get name of (item i of fileList))
			set name of (item i of fileList) to oldName & "-" & preSet & "." & nameExt
		end repeat
	end tell
end open