How do I Ask the user to define a variable only once?

I’m completely new to Applescript (one week in) and I’m trying to complete the script below. I’ve outlined the goal of the script and used * where I’m stuck. Thank you for your help! :slight_smile: I

--The goal of this script to copy contents of one folder into another. I'd like for the user to be asked to select the source and destination folders ONLY the very first time the script is run, and never again... so that each time the script is executed, the source and destination variables are already defined.  This script is called as  part of an VISE install build, and will be ran several times, so it's important that the user is only prompted once. 
-- Why so complex? The company I work for does not want to have to use Finder hard coded paths to define variables (the want relative paths) yet they want the Applescript script to run silently when called from within VISE.  So I figure, I could set relative paths the VERY FIRST TIME the script is ran, and then pass the data along.  

--***Need code to test if the source and destintion were already selected by the user, and need to be able to reuse those variables through out the script.

-- This code allows the user to define the subinstaller source and destion folders
tell application "Finder"
	set the source_folder to choose folder with prompt "Please select the  source directory"
	set the destination_folder to choose folder with prompt "Please select the  destination directory"
	set the source_path to POSIX path of the source_folder
end tell
-- ***I'm not sure how to complete this next if statement
if source_folder is destination_folder then display dialog "You cannot choose the same directory for both the source and the destination.  Please try again."

--This code copies the source data to the destination path using a combination of Applescript and UNIX ditto commands

if source_folder is not the destination_folder then