how do I find a parent folder's path?

First, I am a serious NOOB. So please forgive me.

Second, I am trying to make my scripts as portable as possible so that it can be distributed on flash card, cd etc. One thing I can’t figure out is how to do relative paths instead of absolute paths. If I insert a cd or flash card, I want the script to be able to draw a path to the parent folder, or parent of the parent etc. For example, if the directory structure is as follows:

folder1
scriptA.scpt
scriptB.scpt
scriptC.scpt
folder2
image1.jpg
image2.jpg
image3.jpg

I want scriptA to be able to point to image3.jpg without reference to the root level. So far, when I use “path to me” all I get is a path to the applescipt application, which is clearly not want I want.

if I can figure this out then I can do things like:

set path1 to (path to parent folder as text) & "folder2:image3.jpg"
  1. any bright ideas on how I can resolve this?

2. Aside from using the “Dictionary” which I have not found very useful, any ideas where I can find better applescript reference material so I don’t bog down these forums with such basic questions? Something LIKE the dictionary but wih a quick example would be perfect. Does such a thing exist?

-i

The “Finder” knows…

set f to choose folder
tell application "Finder"
	set c to container of f as alias
	set cc to container of c as alias
	-- set cc to container of container of f as alias also works
end tell

Look here for references: http://applescriptcentral.com/

Here’s something reusable:

choose file without invisibles
getParentPath from (result) for -2

to getParentPath from _somePath for _depth
	-- _depth: -2, parent; -3, parent's parent; etc.
	if _somePath's class is alias then set _somePath to _somePath as Unicode text
	if _somePath's last character is ":" then set _depth to _depth - 1 -- handle folders too

set ASTID to AppleScript's text item delimiters
	set AppleScript's text item delimiters to {":"}