How to cripple an app if unregistered?

Hello,

I just managed to add the AquaticPrime framework to my application.

Now, I would like to cripple it if it is not registered, is there an easy way to do that in Obj-C (still keeping in mind that I am a total newbie!) ?

I don’t know what would be easiest, probably having an application usable only 5 times if unregistered?

Thanks for any help… :slight_smile:

Hi,

it’s quite difficult to manage how often an application will be launched,
because you have to store the information in a way (at least encrypted) the user can not manipulate.

Even checking an expire date could be avoided by changing the system date.

So maybe I can just add in my applescript code something to verify the user is registered or the main window doesn’t show ? Doesn’t sound very safe though …

Unfortunately the experience has taught us, that every application could be cracked.
There is no 100% security.

Yeah I know, with this method, patching a conditional jump in the ASM code - opened with a debugger or disassembler - simply with a hexadecimal editor would do the trick.

That would take about 1 minute for any experienced dude who has fun cracking apps out there. Which is why I’m saying it’s not a secure method…

Still, maybe I can find a code obfuscator, some packer/protector, or some kind of equivalent out there. That would actually be a good challenge since no Mac app are protected this way ^^ (that lack of protection just makes the job easier for crackers…).

Hello again,

I coded the part where the application hides and only the registration window shows up after the first use (in my applescript file), but I need some help to make it check if there is a valid license.

I’m assuming I’d have to use a call method to refer to the Obj-C verification method and put that in variable, but I don’t know how to use call methods really.

Any help appreciated, and if you need to see the Obj-C code I have for verification let me know…