How to detect if a file has been saved inside an specific folder?

Hi everybody:
I’m a amateur in applescript programming( as an english writing too so excuse me).
I need to know if it´s possible with applescript or somenthing to detect if some file inside an specific folder has been saved at the moment it’s saved.
I know it is possible to detect,as an event, when some file(s) is dropped inside a folder and I would need something like that for developping some dificult task.

Thanks for advance anyway.

Bye.

An unsaved file is said to be “dirty”, and the red button on it’s window will have a black dot in it in most applications. After looking around a bit, I’m not sure how that information is stored, but since the window manager knows, there must be a way to find out.

In the meantime, why not just save the file? What are you really trying to find out? Typically, if not saved, a file has a window open, either visible or hidden and you can detect that. If that window has been closed without saving, then whatever changes it held are lost anyway.

[Edit] - It just occurred to me that you might mean “detect that a file has been moved into a specific folder by some means other than dropping it” if so, that’s easy.

My problem is how launching an applescript or whatever script when some system user modified any file located in an specific folder cause it wolud be much better than launching everytime and testing if any user has modified some of these files.
May be it is not possible with applescript but I have seen some event asociated with a folder but I haven’t been able to find a list of system folder or file events that can be captured from applescript.
I guest it is not an easy question.

Thank for your fast response anyway, Adam.

That’s fairly straight-forward. Play with this:

info for (choose file)

You will see that one of the entries is “modification date” so:

modification date of (info for (choose file))