How to extract the 'Title' from 'More Info' Section of Get Info of PDF

I need to extract the Title from the More Info section of the Get Info window of a pdf. I would also like the pages and dimensions. I do not have acrobat but I have Adobe Reader 7.0.8. How do I extract this info using Applescript? I have a folder full of pdf’s for which I need this info in text form. Is this possible? I cannot find any applescript commands for Adobe Reader. Any suggestions really appreciated.

Model: MacBook Pro
Browser: Safari 419.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

PDF Page Count

Using the same method as the page count, you can get the title (OS X v10.4+ only):

choose file with prompt "Get the title of this PDF file:" without invisibles
do shell script "/usr/bin/mdls -name kMDItemTitle " & quoted form of POSIX path of result & " | /usr/bin/grep -o '\".*$'"
set theTitle to text 2 thru -2 of result

You just saved me hours and hours of trying to figure this out. I am new to Applescript but would like to really learn it well since the few that I have created on my own have already saved a great deal of time in our workflow. Thanks a bunch!:smiley:

Perhaps this form would be better. I have lots of PDF files that have no title information:

choose file with prompt "Get the title of this PDF file:" without invisibles
try
	do shell script "/usr/bin/mdls -name kMDItemTitle " & quoted form of POSIX path of result & " | /usr/bin/grep -o '\".*$'"
on error
	display dialog "Title not available for this PDF"
end try

Yes, it would be. :slight_smile:

You could aslo use error handling to set theTitle to an empty string (“”), false, etc.