How to move files into folders that contains same name?

I guys,
This forum is amazing!
I’m new to applescript (and to scripting in general - made a game on scratch :rolleyes: and now im trying to learn new stuff).

I promise I looked all over the web but cant get the result I need.

I have some some folders inside a container folder.
And I have images in the same container folder.
(the image names and folder names are not exact but they are very similar)

What I want to do:

If image name contains folder name then duplicate image to that folder.
repeat process until all images are duplicated to their folders.

I have tried a billion different scripts and dug all over the internet and forum.

But didn’t even come close.

Go ahead and laugh, last script I was trying was this one:

set targetFolder to (choose folder with prompt "Where are the files and folders?")

tell application "Finder"
	set folderList to every folder of folder targetFolder
	duplicate (every file of targetFolder whose name contains folderList)
end tell

Could anyone give me a headsup ?

Thanks in advance

Model: macbook pro
AppleScript: Version 2.6 (152)
Browser: Safari 537.36
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.8)

Welcome to MacScripter :slight_smile:

You can try something like this:

set mainFolder to (choose folder)

tell application "Finder"
	set myFiles to files of mainFolder
	repeat with aFile in myFiles
		set {fileName, fileExt} to {name, name extension} of aFile
		set baseName to text 1 thru ((get offset of "." & fileExt in fileName) - 1) of fileName
		set targetFolder to (folders of mainFolder whose name contains baseName)
		if targetFolder ≠ {} then duplicate aFile to (first item of targetFolder)
	end repeat
end tell

Hello.

This is another take. which should be just a bit more efficient, since it performs just one query, but it isn’t timed!

set theFol to "Macintosh HD:Users:You:Your:folder:with:Pictures" as alias
tell application id "MACS"