How to move files

How can I move our Network Files which have 1000’s upon 1000’s of other files inside these main files?

Can this be done?
We want to take every file and move them to a New location and get ride of the old location all together.

I’m new to apple script so I want to clear this up before attempting anything. (We CANNOT have a ERROR where it DELETES, DESTROYS, CORRUPTS or Heaven Forbid it Makes any MISTAKES.)

If you have Knowledge of How To, or if there is a Scripted already floating around that is TESTED and Solid, Please link it.

I’ve never used Apple Script before so I don’t know how to write the code, if anyone can point out anything useful please do so.

Thank you for your time!:smiley:

Model: 2.4GHz Intel iMAC, ATI 2600 HD 256Mb Video Card, 2GHz of Ram, 320 GB Hard Drive.
AppleScript: Snow Leopard 10.6.2
Browser: Safari 531.21.10
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.6)

Moving files is a very common task so there are an incredible amount of posts on this forum already. You should find all the information you need by doing a search.

You might also want to look at Unscripted. There are many tutorials there for learning AppleScript.

Hi,

A solution might be rsync which is a unix tool but can be used within applescript if you like.
I use on a daily basis to mirror and backup all our data from server to server.
It uses a special mechanism to compare directories for any differences.

Type ‘man rsync’ in the terminal, this will give you some idea what rsync is capable of.
I can help you putting it all together, but more info is needed…

–Peter–

A word of caution on rsync (and shell scripting in general). If you make a mistake, there is no forgiveness. :confused:

I was testing an rsync script and misplaced a single character. which lead to me deleting 3 years worth of research in about 30 seconds. And DELETED as in irrecoverable.