How to numbering the file with same name?

Hey, folks!

This is my first time posting on this forum. I have a problem that I have a lot of image files named Datum_20201025 (format: prefix+date) in Devonthink. I want to write a script that can number them and make them look like this Datum_20201025_1, and the number 1 means it is the first file to be renamed on the day of 20201025. And I hope that every time I run this script, it can inherit the result of the previous run.

For example, I have three files named Datum_20201025, two of them are in folder A, and one is in folder B. I first select two of A and run the script. They become File_20201025_1 and File_20201025_2. Then I come to B and run the script, it becomes File_20201025_1, is there a way to make it become File_20201025_3?

The following script is what I imagined. I guess it may have some changes afterwards, so I did not write it very carefully, so it may have many errors :stuck_out_tongue: Hope to discuss with you!

set theDate to {"0101","0102",.....,"1230","1231"}
set theValue to {"1","1",......,"1","1"}
set theRecords to the selection
repeat with thisRecord in theRecords
	set theName to the name of thisRecord
	set theName_date to characters -4 thru -1 of theName
	repeat with i from 1 to the count of theDate
		if item i of theDate = (theName_date as text) then
			set theName_number to item i of theValue
			set theName to (theName & "_" & theName_number)
			set item i to item i + 1
		end if
	end repeat
end repeat

Thank you for your recommendation, I have actually downloaded similar software before, and they are indeed very easy to use! As for the reason I want to use applescript, I have imported most of my files into Devonthink and established many links between files. If I export them, rename them and import them again, I will lose these links… :frowning: For these files, I Had to use Applescript to modify…Thank you again! It will be very useful if I switch to indexing external files in the future!