How to pass variables from VBA to applescript?

Complete newbie on applescript, know enough to survive in VBA. Looking for a way to pass variables from VBA to applescript. In particular a file name as a sting and the contents for a text file as a string. (I have VBA code in excel that fills a text box on a form with a bunch of stuff.) I want to save it as a text file with an extension of *.NC. All of my code in excel works and I am able to run applescripts to open files and write a string to them. What I am unable to crack is how to pass strings from VBA to applescript. I can only find two examples on the web but can’t figure out how they work.

Looking for examples of code in both VBA and Applescript.

By using the MacScript function. You could ask Ron de Bruin who is specialized in VBA and AppleScript (with Excel), you can check out his website about excel automation

Thanks for the response. I know about the MacScript function and have used that. But I still don’t understand how to make it do what I want. Some test VBA code below…

Private Sub btnSave_Click()
Dim strNCCodeFileName As String
Dim strNCCode As String
strNCCodeFileName = “NiceFileName.NC”
'the real file name would be determined by code
strNCCode = " A big bunch of text"
'this string would be the contents of a text box, couple thousand characters
Call callScript(strNCCodeFileName, strNCCode)
End Sub

Sub callScript(strNCCodeFileName As String, strNCCode As String)
Dim scriptToRun As String
scriptToRun = “display alert " & “”” & strNCCodeFileName & strNCCode & “”"
MacScript (scriptToRun)
End Sub

The display alert pops up, but instead of the text being (without the quotes) “NiceFileName.NC A big bunch of text” I get “& strNCCodeFileName & strNCCode &” (without the quotes). I am thinking I need to have an actual applescript file (or app) in the script library that I can pass the two arguments to? I am just not sure how to make that work.