How to store values in an internal table & sort the values afterwards

Hello!

I am totally new to AppleScript and I am trying to learn it by solving a real problem.

THE PROBLEM
I use OmniFocus on my iMac as my task management tool. OF generates a lot of backup-files that fill a certain folder. This folder grows bigger and bigger.

THE GOAL
I wish to monitor the backup-folder and delete the oldest files if the backup-folder-size exceeds a certain size (just like TimeMachine does with the oldest files when the hard drive is full).

Before I have even thought about AppleScript I have imagined something like this:

repeat until backup-folder-size < maximum-size
       delete oldest file in the backup-folder
   end-repeat

I have tried this with Hazel, but Hazel doesn’t run loops, so I thought I could make an AppleScript for the loop and put this AppleScript in a Hazel-rule.

So I have started to learn AppleScript! I have made a script that asks for the backup-folder and the wish maximum-size and even displays the folder size and the number of the files within this folders.

Right now I would like to

a) Save the file name, the file size and the creation-date of each file in the backup-folder in an internal table;

b) Then sort this table by creation-date;

c) Sum the file-sizes of the files in the sorted table until the wish maximum-size is reached;

d) Save the index of the table-element, where this happens;

e) And finally move all the remaining files into a "to_be_deleted"-folder.

THE QUESTIONS
1.- Does something like a table / array exist in AppleScript (for a) above)? Assuming that an AppleScript list is the same as a 1-dimensional table, than a more-dimensional-table should be something like. a list of lists?! Hmmm…

2.- How does one address / load the sizes, creation-dates and the name of each file in the chosen folder in the table-elements?

3.- How does one sort this table?

Thank you for your patience :slight_smile: and suggestions!

Kind regards,