HOWTO: Launch non-scriptable Pseudo application

I don’t know if anyone is familiar with “Pseudo” (http://personalpages.tds.net/~brian_hill/pseudo.html) but I need to launch an application from a script via “Pseudo.” I don’t know if this is even possible but I have a ‘Pseudolaunchdocument’ which does what I need with the application. However, Applesciript does not let me “launch” that file (although I can launch it from the dock or desktop). I can launch “Pseudo” but since it is not scriptable, I don’t know how to tell it to use that launch document. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

You can back into Pseudo using the shell to launch it:

Jon

[This script was automatically tagged for color coded syntax by Script to Markup Code]

Thanks for the reply. As a beginner, I am not following this very well. If I use your script with no changes, other then the password, it will not let me choose the Pseudo launch document. I’m a little confused about the file type “APPL”, shouldn’t it be “pseudo,” which is the file type of the laucn document? Am I misunderstanding what to do? Does this launch Pseudo with the launch document or is it by-passing Pseudo and launching the app itself via a Unix shell (we have not set a root password so I am guessing you mean admin password)?

P.S. This is going to be part of a backup script so it needs to run unattended.

No, type “APPL” should just let you choose items that have a file type code of “APPL” which works for many applications. You can modify this script so that it allows you to choose any file–regardless of file type (see below). This was just to show you how it works. If you already know the file/app you want to open using Pseudo, you should hard code that instead of using the “choose file” command.

Jon

[This script was automatically tagged for color coded syntax by Script to Markup Code]

I’m not familiar with Pseudo but can’t the Finder be used to do this?