I don't understand ... [ 1 of 2 ] [selection; get]

I’m just learning applescript. I’m a professional programmer (C++/Python/Lisp/i86 assembly) but I’m having real trouble getting to grip with applescript’s syntax.

I have two questions, I’ll ask one in this thread and start a new thread for the other.

My question is, why does this work:

tell application "iPhoto"
	set plist to selection
	set p to first item of plist
end tell
-- result: photo id 4.294968778E+9 of application "iPhoto"

But this:

set p to first item of selection
end tell
-- error: iPhoto got an error: Can't make item 1 of selection into type reference.

doesn’t?

Obviously I have a work-around here but I keep running into issues like this and it’s slowing me down. Maybe if I knew why this happened I could avoid the mistake in the first place.

Thanks,
Brian.

This suggests to me that your first example does not work. When I’m working in C/C++/Obj-C and see these kinds of large numbers in my locals list, it’s always “oh crap, memory got trashed” or something else went wrong.

Mikey-San, the first one does work because I can use the thing returned.

Here’s another example that just got me:

This works:

set theURL to URL of f
set allTokens to every word in theURL
--> result: { 'file', 'localhost', 'Users', ... etc }

This doesn’t:

set allToken to every word in the URL of f
--> result: {}

This one was worse because the script happily ran for 30 minutes doing nothing useful.

In case it matters, the above two slot into the following script at the (* HERE *) mark (may contain typos as Script Editor isn’t responsive to me trying to select the text at the moment- I’m rerunning the script):

tell application "Finder"
  set dir to choose folder with prompt "Folder tree to import" default location alias "Macintosh HD:Users:Brian:Pictures:"
  set allFiles to entire contents of dir

repeat with f in allFiles
   if name of f ends with ".jpg" then
     (* HERE *)
     -- other stuff 
   end if
  end repeat