Idle Handler Question

This question is in regards to commands within a idle handler. I’m writing a stay-open script to do the following:

1. Automatically mount the server (after being asked if he/she wants to cancel)
  2. Launch a program
  3. Verifying if the program is active while idle
  4. If the program quits (as per user), the script logs user off the server and then quits itself

Simple right? Well i’m still a newbie at scripting so I need some guidance. This is what I have thus far:

tell application "Finder"
	display dialog "Launching Essential Skills...............................

HAVE FUN!" buttons {"Cancel Application"} default button 1 giving up after 3
	if button returned of result is "Cancel Application" then tell me to quit
end tell

on idle
	mount volume "afp://username:password@ip address/  OSX Network Applications"
	set thepath to open file "path:application"
	set B to "path:application"
	if B is true then repeat
	end repeat
	if B is false then
		tell application "Finder" to eject disk "  OSX Network Applications" & (quit)
		return 1
	end if
end idle

What I believe is inside the idle handler the open file command cannot be identified or it gives me a “Disk some object” error (?!) . Is there another way to pull this off or should the application launch outside of the idle handler (and how would that be setup)?

Thank you for the insight that anyone can provide.

PS - Thank you both Craig Smith and Adam Bell for the recent tutorial and help (although I need a bit more assistance).

Model: MacBook
AppleScript: 2.1.1 (81)
Browser: Firefox 2.0.0.6
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

That is not the way to run multiple commands. Also, that will just cause the Finder to quit.

I’d think something like this would work better:

if B is false then
	tell application "Finder" to eject disk "  OSX Network Applications"
	tell application "System Events" to log out
	quit
end if