Inconsistent window index # in app with one window

Greetings all! This is my first post. I am new to applescript, have seen some snippets of code here and there in the past, but have never really scripted with it before. I am working on a project for a client which involves a very misbehaving and non-conforming app. Basically, what we are trying to do is perform a series of actions when a certain key is pressed. I am attempting to use UI scripting to get the job done - and had succeeded at one point. Unfortunately, the app is causing a lot of problems - namely the window indexes are not consistent. To top it off, the end of title of the main (and only) window changes when a different feature of the app is selected.

To help further explain my problem, here is my code:

if title of window "19" contains "Oranges" then
   perform action "AXIncrement" of slider 3 of scroll area 1 of window 8
else if title of window "19" contains "Apples" then
   click button 4 of scroll area 1 of window 4
end if

The problem is that not just the main window, but it seems like all the windows - change their index #'s. (In the example above, the “main” window is window “19” - that’s just the value it happened to be at the time). The index #'s change, but the location of elements are consistent. The main window also changes title based on function, so I can’t just use the full name of the window either. However, it’s only the end of the window title that changes, not the whole thing. So you have “Application XYZ - Oranges” if you’re in that mode, then you have “Application XYZ - Apples” if you’re in that mode.

Edit: Heh, spent so much time describing my problem, I forgot to ask my question. How can I ensure the same buttons I want to press are selected, regardless of window index # or name?

Thanks for any advice you can provide.

Model: mac mini
AppleScript: 2.0
Browser: Safari 523.15
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.5)