Indesign CS Scripting Noob with "fill color" problem

Hello all

I am very new to scripting and trying to figure out how to make things work in InDesign CS before inflicting my madness on the rest of the department. Right now I am experimenting with scripts produced by others but keep running into a problem with setting a “fill color” property that I just cant seem to solve. I’ve come across other scripts using similar fill color commands and they produce similar errors on my machine. I “imagine” these scripts must work for someone (perhaps ID CS2?) but they arent working for me and it really has me stumped.

The following script is one of the examples that produces an error (I’ve separated the line that produces the error). The error I get for the following script is : InDesign CS got an error: Can’t set fill color of every word of parent story of text frame id 212 of page id 178 of spread id 173 of document “Untitled-7” whose contents = “zebra” to color id 193 of document “Untitled-7”

So far it seems I can only set “fill color” and similar properties when I use a set or tell command that instructs indesign to “make” something. When I try to change the property without a “Make” command I get an error.

Can anyone point out what is wrong with the separated line? It is attempting to set all instances of the word “Zebra” found within the textframe to the color red. I get errors every time I try to change the fill color (or stroke color & other properties) of text anywhere without using a “make textframe” command. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

(PS… if this script works for you I would like to know about it… perhaps something is wrong with my version of OSX or applescript?)

--Find preferences example
set myString to "You found:" & return
tell application "InDesign CS"
	--Set up an example document.
	set myDocument to make document
	tell myDocument
		set myColor to make color with properties {color value:{0, 100, 100, 0}, name:"Red"}
	end tell