InDesign CS2 Open, Select All, Ungroup, Text to Outlines, Export PDF

Hi,

I am very new to AppleScripting so please forgive the novelty of these questions. I have ordered an AppleScript book and an Automator book and am waiting for them to arrive.

I am trying to accomplish the following in this order:

Automatically open a series of highlighted/selected InDesign CS2 files (and perform the following to each of them):
Select all.
Ungroup as many times as needed to ungroup all groups.
Convert all text to outlines.
Export PDF to a specific location. (I would like to have a few different actions, each with a different pre-defined Adobe PDF Preset.)
Close each file.
I’d also like to automatically print these newly exported PDFs but that is my second priority right now.

So far, I have the following script that will export an InDesign CS2 file that is already opened using a specific Adobe PDF Preset. I’d like this script to be able to export a PDF with the filename that is the same as the InDesign file plus the .pdf suffix (instead of a specific filename listed in the script like I have). The script that I have been working with so far is from the Adobe website.

I’d also like the script to be built upon to accomplish the tasks listed above.

Any help would be appreciated. Again, I’m very new to this. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Josh

tell application “InDesign CS2”
set myPDFPresetName to “MyPDFPreset”
set found to false

-- Find existing PDF export presets of the same name
set numPresets to count PDF export presets
repeat with myCounter from 1 to numPresets
	set currentPresetName to name of PDF export preset myCounter
	if currentPresetName is equal to myPDFPresetName then
		-- Found, so don't make a new one
		set found to true
	end if
end repeat

-- Not found, so make a new PDF export preset
if found is false then
	make PDF export preset with properties {name:myPDFPresetName, view PDF:true, omit EPS:true}
end if

-- Try exporting
try