iTunes add album/artist to playlist.

Hi,

This is probably an easy one but I’m new to applescript so bare with me!

I’m writing a few scripts for iTunes that basically add selected songs to a certain playlist, plays the playlist etc.

They work fine but the problem is if I select an artist or album in the browser and run my script it adds noting to the playlist (It doesn’t recognise anything as being selected), but it does work if i select a song or group of songs.

Is there a way of knowing if an artist or album has been selected in the browser?

I want something like:

if (album/artist selected with no songs)
Loop to each song for the artist/album
add song to playlist

Thanks

I don’t think so; iTunes selection property will return an empty list.

You know the area of the front screen that shows the list of songs for the artist/album combination selected?

Is there a property that stores that list of songs? That would work either

Sorry, I don’t have time to work on a full solution, but perhaps this is a start.
If you have an artist selected in iTunes, then the following script will create a new selection based on that artist / album.
(All you need to do now is fill a new playlist with this selection!..)
Is that what you were wanting to do?

tell application "iTunes" to activate
tell application "System Events" to tell process "iTunes"
	keystroke "f" using {command down, option down} -- This whole series of convoluted keystrokes is just to ensure that the leftmost column is active.
	delay 0.2
	keystroke tab & tab
	delay 0.2
	keystroke "a" using {command down}
end tell
tell application "iTunes" to set s to selection
return s

PJ.

Ah I get ya, basically what that’s donig is selecting all the songs (Cmd+A)? Yeah that should work I’ll give it a try later on

Thanks

I’ve tried that and it does select the tracks (It needs 3 tabs rather than two by the way)

However when I try to add the tracks to the playlist as i did before the selection seems to be empty.