iTunes track change handler??

I’ve written a script that creates iPod notes from a track’s lyrics and transfers them to a subfolder on my iPod. I’d like a way to automatically run this script on the playing track each time the track changes. Is there any sort of “track change handler” that allows me to “do this when the playing track changes”? Yes, I’ve read the iTunes scripting dictionary, and nothing there seems to match my needs.
TIA.

you’ll have to use an idle routine that looks for a change in the current track

Yeah, that’s pretty much what I was asking for help with–I was probably just using the wrong terminology. I’m still learning about AS, and this site is one of my avenues of learning.
So although I appreciate your reply, I think you just sort of rephrased my own question.

I’m not an AS master like many here, but this is what I did. Ask if you need me to clarify.

(* This subroutine monitors user modification of iTunes playback. It will check track name & player position every 5 seconds. If a user skips a track or skips forward/backward in a track it will rerun this subroutine & get new lyrics (if track has been changed) *)
on alter_playbk()

tell application "iTunes"
		set tme to (duration of current track)
		set pos to player position
		set remain to tme - pos
		set rpt_num to round ((remain - 10) / 5)
		set xyz to 0
		log rpt_num
		repeat rpt_num times
			set y to name of current track
			set z to player position
			delay 5
			if name of current track is not equal to y then
				display dialog "Track has been changed"
				exit repeat
			else
				set pos_buff to {z + 5, z + 6, z + 7, z + 8, z + 9}
				if {player position} is not in pos_buff then
					display dialog "Leave the slider alone"
					exit repeat
				end if
			end if
		end repeat
	end tell

end alter_playbk

Thanks bonkers. 1 question: How do I put your subroutine to use?