Keyboard shortcut directly to stay-open script handler possible?

Hi!
My first post here, and thank you for this wonderful resource of Applescript knowledge :slight_smile:

Now to my problem: I’m a translator, and I wrote a script/Automator workflow (with the help of many posts in this forum) which acts as a kind of glossary/dictionary:
I have a simple tab-delimited TXT file with glossary terms, such as:
carAuto
(for e.g. English to German)

So, when I select a word (or a longer string) in any app, I press a keyboard shortcut, which calls my script, which does the following:

1. checks if the selected string exists in the glossary file
  2. if it does, it returns the translation (second column) (pastes it over the original selection)
  3. if the selected string is not in the glossary file, a dialog opens asking you to enter a new translation (which is then added to glossary file, and also pasted OVER the original string)
  4. quit script

The script works fine (I can provide the complete listing, if anyone is interested) - but I would like to improve it, such as that it runs as a stay-open script, doing the following:

1. when started, the script would ask the user to select some options, such as:
  • name and location of glossary TXT file
  • which type of matching to use (“exact match” or e.g. “regex-type”)
  • whether to also show the results as a notification
  • etc…
  1. then, after the settings have been entered (in a custom dialog with some checkboxes, etc.), the script would be hidden and wait for input - as usual, by a keyboard shortcut (?)

(i.e. I want to set the options just once, when the script is started!)

So, I know this could be done by actually having TWO scripts: