Keystroke return not working - help!

Hi guys,

I’m having a few problems with Toast Titanium 10 scripting.

Generally everything is working fine (to a point of testing) but I can’t get the Keystroke Return to work when the main Burn Window appears.

This is the message from the events window.

tell application "Finder"
get keystroke "
"
--> error number -1728 from keystroke "
"
Result:
error "Finder got an error: Can't get keystroke \"
\"." number -1728 from keystroke "
"

I’m a total novice working through my first script (ongoing project), but until I can get this section to work, I’m pretty much stuck, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,
Steve

Suppose I open TextEdit. Then under the file menu I choose print. Now that I have the print sheet open I can get all of the ui elements of the print sheet like this…

tell application "TextEdit" to activate
delay 0.5
tell application "System Events"
	tell process "TextEdit"
		UI elements of sheet 1 of window 1
	end tell
end tell

So looking at the ui elements I can determine which one I need to do something. However, if I wanted to click the “Cancel” button on the sheet that’s simple because I know the ui element is a button and I know the title of the button is “Cancel”… so I could do this without even knowing all of the ui elements.

tell application "TextEdit" to activate
delay 0.5
	tell process "TextEdit"
		set theButton to first button of sheet 1 of window 1 whose title is "Cancel"
		click theButton
	end tell
end tell

So you see it’s pretty simple to find ui elements and it’s even more simple to click buttons.

Am I reading wrongly ?

I understood that the OP wanted to get the info : “which key was depressed”, not “how may we issue a key stroke”.

Yvan KOENIG (VALLAURIS, France) jeudi 19 août 2010 12:53:41