Launching Application folders by file path

I have been searching via google and forums for the last three days - so I apologize ahead of time if this is apparent and I’ve missed something, as I’m very new to Applescript and MacOS.

I’m using Snow Leopard 10.6.2 and the pre existing AppleScript.

I am trying to call an application to launch via file path:

tell application “Applications/Microsoft Office 2004/Microsoft Word.app” to launch

It tells me it cannot find that directory

However if I use terminal:
open /Applications/Microsoft\ Office\ 2008/Microsoft\ Word.app

The application launches. However, if I use the same command for Microsoft office 2004 it tells me it cannot be located - so I find I’m having difficulty solving this problem with perhaps a quick and easy shell script to launch via Applescript (as I’ve read can be done).

The end goal is I have two versions of office on this Mac, 2004 and 2008 I need to be able to launch them all (both versions) with a script. Can this be done?

Thank you very much for your time and help,

Myst

Hi,

AppleScript works with HFS paths (colon separated)
try this

set applicationFolder to path to applications folder as text
tell application (applicationFolder & "Microsoft Office 2004:Microsoft Word") to launch

StefanK

Thank you so much for the help! I tried the script and it works perfectly. Now I need to figure out how to chain them together because if I just run

tell application (applicationFolder & “Microsoft Office 2004:Microsoft Word”) to launch
tell application (applicationFolder & “Microsoft Office 2008:Microsoft Word”) to launch

It tells me the second office 2008 wasn’t found.

Ultimately I want to launch both full suites at the same time (word, excel, powerpoint, entourage). Thank you!

Myst

Also - when I remove the 2004 version call to launch and just leave

tell application (applicationFolder & "Microsoft office 2008:Microsoft Word") to launch

I get the following error: