Lock the Dock

Hi =) I am wanting to find a way to lock the Dock. I have 60 iMacs and I can not keep the Dock the same size, in the same spot and with the same icons on it on all 60 of them all the time. I am using OS X 10.2.8. I know I can add multiple users and keep icons from disappearing, but it won’t keep the Dock the same size.

I would like to make something that either keeps the Dock from being changed in any way or if that isn’t possible, something that will reset the Dock to the way I want it when I turn the computers on.

I am not very good with AppleScript. I come here when I want to do someting that I can’t figure out.

Could someone please help me get started? I have no clue where to begin.

Thanks,
Connie

Topic moved to AppleScript | OS X - the dock is only in OS X (10.2.8) in this case.

In Tiger at least, the Dock attributes are stored in ~/Library/Preferrences/com.apple.dock.plist. Perhaps you could copy the .plist for the one you want and restore it to your standard copy when it was changed.

If you mean to go to the hard drive, then to Library, then to Preferences,
mine is like this com.apple.dockfixup.plist

Is there somewhere else I can look? Or am I looking in the right place?

I tried right clicking on com.apple.dockfixup.plist and clicking on File then Get Info and changing the Ownership and Permissions to no access. It didn’t work. I can still “poof” the items off the Dock.

No, I meant HD/users/aUser/Library/Preferences/com.apple.dock.plist

Okay, I found that =) I can make a script that runs at start up that will replace that file with the one I want. Thanks so much for helping me!!!

Remember that you can find the path to that folder in generic terms so you don’t have to know who the user is (with appropriate privilege, of course)

(path to preferences folder from user domain as text) & "com.apple.dock.plist"