Looking for help with XMLFind from XMLLib

Hello,

I’m new to applescript and I’m trying to use it for creating some tools for work.
I used to be a programmer a long time ago (assembly, C, bit of Java) so this is all very strange to me. However, I read a lot of tutorials here and there and was able to concatenate some pieces of code.

I’d like to use the XMLFind command to parse specific data from an XML file.
Since I did not know how to use it, I wrote myself some Find command that is unfortunately very rigid and and change to the XML tag I’m looking for is a consequent work in itself (for me ;)).

Here’s an example of the XML file I’m looking into:

Basically, I’d like to understand how to format my XMLFind command to be able to (for example):

• list all ‘scenario’ containing a ‘configuration’ that has a specific value
  • list all ‘scenario’ with an ‘operation’ name “SetUp”

I guess that with this as a start I’ll be able to extend to my other needs as they rise.

I appreciate your help.

Regs,

Nicolas

Hi, Nicolas. Welcome to MacScripter.

XMLLib is an OSAX by Satimage Software. I haven’t played around with it much myself, but there’s a tutorial here on Satimage’s Web site. Maybe you’ll be able to glean what you want from it.

One thing I’ve noticed while trying the first few examples in the tutorial is that the ‘XMLDisplay’ command shown compiles to ‘XMLNodeInfo’ in Script Editor on my machine. That just means Emmanuel’s changed his mind about what the command should be called since he wrote the tutorial. Don’t worry when you see it happen! :slight_smile:

Edit:

Thinking about it further, what you want may be easier with System Events’s XML Suite:

set XML_path to (path to desktop as Unicode text) & "Test.xml"

tell application "System Events"
	tell contents of XML file XML_path
		tell XML element "package"
			tell (first XML element whose name is "initial-state" and value of XML attribute "name" is "SECURED")