Mail "Can't get selection"

As a complete newbie, working on my first script, I have been looking at various posts to solve this problem and have tried several blocks of code that used different approaches, but still “can’t get selection”, although I have selected either one of two email messages in the Mal Inbox before running the code.

tell application "Mail"
	set theMessage to item 1 of (get selection)
	set attachment_file to first mail attachment of theMessage
	set attachment_name to name of the first mail attachment of theMessage
	save attachment_file in "Users:Daily:Documents:Properties:Birdwood Road:Solar & Battery Power:" & attachment_name
end tell

There must be something fundamental I am missing in trying to use the Script Editor, so please tell me what it is.

Try this:

tell application "Mail"
	set theMessage to item 1 of (get selected messages of message viewer 1)
	if exists mail attachments of theMessage then
		save attachment_file in "Users:Daily:Documents:Properties:Birdwood Road:Solar & Battery Power:" & attachment_name
	end if
end tell

Thank you, Ionah. Your script gives me the error “can’t get message viewer 1”, with error -1728, which is “The referenced object doesn’t exist. This is a run-time resolution error, such as when attempting to reference a third object when only two objects exist.”

I am unsure why that message viewer, or in my earlier script, that message, doesn’t exist.

@Fredrik71, I used your code and got a Syntax error ‘Expected “,” but found property.’ at compilation. The compiler replaced “as” with “rule type” and wouldn’t compile.

I also don’t understand why you introduced “set theOpenedFile…” when you and I are both trying to save a file into a folder.

@Fredrik71, I misunderstood your code. Now I have used the following, but still get the “can’t get selection” error upon compilation.

set savePath to (“Users:Daily:Documents:Properties:Birdwood Road:Solar & Battery Power:” as string)

tell application “Mail”