Make a program/script to delete files and folders?

Anybody know how to make a script or program that automatically deletes a series of files and folders? Today I have to manually delete each folder and files for a certain program. I want to automate the prosess. It is not more than 10-15 steps. As I am new to programming (except html and css) I need some guidens… Anybody have an idè?

The ease of automation often depends on how organized the files and folders are in the first place. What kind of organizational structure are you working with? Is everything in one folder? Common filenames? Anything like that?

To add to Craig’s question: how do you identify the files/folders that should be deleted?

Basically the files are in one folder, but some are spread around too. Just would be nice to have it automated, instead I now have to do all this manually. Nice if could just like run a program and then it’s done. But as I’m new to this, I want to learn how to do it. Is it any programs I can use? Or would just bash do?

Inesland:
So you’ve established one target, but the “some are spread around too…” - are they consistently “spread around”. Like, are they always in some other folders? And are they the only files in the folders? If not, what criteria determines if they are ones to be deleted? (Ex. every file in folder “foo” whose creation date is today.)