Make script repeat until a file has been added to a certain folder

I’m a total newbie but am fascinated by what I am seeing coming into the world of applescript. I am in the process of trying to write my first script for my church to help automate recording of the weekly messages. I have had partial success developing a workflow combined with automator scripts as well as my pieced together applescripts.

The workflow starts when the recording is finished in GarageBand and is set to be exported into iTunes for Burning CD’s. Activating the Script from the Menu Bar Does the following actions:

Launch Application iTunes - Bring the correct playlist to front - Uncheck all songs in playlist - click button export from GarageBand - Quit GarageBand Application - Get the Current Song (the one just imported) - Set Info of iTunes Songs - Pause iTunes - click button to Burn CD

It all worked great with my test GarageBand project which was only 10 seconds long and I thought I was golden. Problem was though that our Pastor is maybe a bit long winded and the messages tend to be over an hour. While GarageBand is mixing down and converting the audio for Export, the Workflow keeps on running and when it comes to the iTunes stuff to do the song is not there yet for it to work with.

I have had many short nights the past week looking at your Forums trying to crack this one myself by looking at others examples and it got me as far as it did but I cannot get this one. Here are the approaches that I was trying.

1. I looked at seeing if I could write a script that would notice when the GarageBand Export window closed which would signify the process was finished. I couldn’t figure this out and my UI Inspector would freeze up when it was doing it’s Export stuff so I couldn’t see what that “sheet” or whatever it is that slides down then was called.