Making a droplet that sets "document properties" on pdf's

Hello,

i’m very new to AS. In fact I stumbled upon it while trying to figure out a workflow problem.
Now, i’m not too sure how to get started with this.

As the title implies, I need to create a droplet that will - when a pdf is dropped on it - set that pdf’s document properties to “Show: Pages panel and Page”, “Page layout: Single Page” and “Magnification: Fit Page”.

Now what i did find here is something to call a batch process, but this is annoying when i need to share this dropplet to my team mates.

Well if any of you has pointers, code embryo etc. :slight_smile:

Many thanks,

Ugo

Model: G4 PPC Dual 1.25Ghz
AppleScript: 1.10.7
Browser: Firefox 3.0.3
Operating System: Mac OS X (10.4)

I don’t think that those are properties that are stored in the document. If you are using Acrobat go to the page display preferences and set them there.

You can set a default in acrobat for when you open “unspecified” docs. But you can also bypass the user’s default by specifying those in the document.

Im almost certain that when you do this in the UI Acrobat is adding “document level” JavaScript to the file. This is then executed when the file is opened and overrides the user pref’s. If you can do this or can find who can do it with JavaScript then it should be possible to “do script” and perform this. The method you would need to look into is addScript()

Mark, i’m sure this is valuable input but, to be honest, I dont understand what you wrote :frowning:
From where i stand i’m not even sure how to begin this script let alone how to make it a droplet…

I don’t have adobe acrobat so I can’t help you with that. As such I don’t know if the following workflow is possible but I would guess that it is.

1. open each dropped file using acrobat
  2. script acrobat to change the document settings
  3. script acrobat to save the file
  4. script acrobat to close the file