Making a slideshow app.

Greetings all, this is my first post. I’m an Applescript newbie, and this is my first major undertaking.
I’m building an application in Applescript Studio. Everything is going fine, except that I need it to display a jpg that it finds in a folder.

Here is the setup:
- The picture is called “picture1.jpg”
-“picture1.jpg” is the first in a series of pictures, so I need need create a variable that will hold “picture” and “.jpg” as text and some sort of counter variable.
- The picture is located in the folder “area1” inside another folder called “pictures”, which is sitting in a disk called “storage”. I’ve created the disk using disk utility, if that means anything. Later, it’ll be a CD.
- The window holding the picture is called “pictureWindow” in its applescript tab.
- The window is sitting directly on the main window, called “mainWindow” in its applescript tab.

• Also, I understand that I must release the file to save on memory usage. I don’t know the code for that, either.

I think that’s it. I’ve done this already in Script Editor, but I just used Quicktime Player to open and display the file. I’d like to do it all in a self-contained app. Thanks.

Greetings.

I assume you’re trying to make a slideshow app. Below is what worked for me. I set it up to run images from a folder structure identical to yours on my desktop, so you’ll have to fiddle with the path a bit to get it to work from your disk or on your cd, but that should be a small issue. I also put the code to change the picture in a button clicked event but you could automate it or use another event with little modification. The on awake from nib handler should be attached to the window “mainWindow” so it loads the first image when the app is launched.

property writePicture : "picture"
property writeJPG : ".jpg"
property currentImage : 1
property imagesDirectory : "storage/pictures/area1/"

on clicked theObject
	if name of theObject is "showNextImage" then
		try