Making AS projects scriptabe

I’ve got a fairly simple call I’d like to make to my AS project, and I’m not sure how to enable it. Basically I want to be able to write a script that says:

tell application "MyApp"
select contact "john smith"
end tell

In the app, the list of contacts is a combo box full of names. Would I need cocoa for this, or can it be done all in applescript? I’m very new to AS, so my familiarity with all of the interface otpions is pretty low. I was looking in the ‘Files Owner’ appleascript menu in interface builder for an “tell” trigger. But it was not there. So I’m fearing that it’s a little more complex than I’d hoped.

Alternately, If I could just activate the app with a specified parameter (eg: activate myApp with contact equal to “john smith”) that would also work.

There are tutorials online, but they all talk about Cocoa apps. And I’m not exactly sure how I would implement that in my AS project (and I know nothing of cocoa). Any suggestions?

One important detail is unclear. Do you wish to send it variable data, or do you wish to merely activate a hardcoded action? In other words… using your example… would you like to be able to send select contact “XXXXX” and provide some other mechanism for filling in the XXXXX part? Or are you always sending a command to access the entry for “john smith”?

What I did was… Set up an ASS app that sets the contents of the general pasteboard to your desired contents (you can also use a basic script and not an ASS app, but you’ll need to access the ‘clipboard’ and not the pasteboard). Then send a command to your main app to process the pasteboard contents.

(* This code lives in the application sending the message *)
on clicked theObject
	if name of theObject is "sendMessage" then
		set preferred type of pasteboard "general" to "string"
		set contents of pasteboard "general" to "John Smith"
		tell application "MyApp"
			tell button "theButton" of window "theWindow" to perform action
		end tell
	end if