Menu bar script runs differ from Script Editor runs

As a newbie, I am unsure why a script that calls an Excel macro runs to completion from Script Editor, but stalls upon reaching that macro call when run from the menu bar. I’ve been careful to ensure that I’m using the same script file, but cannot see the problem. Can anyone help me?

If you post the script, we can certainly try.

set savePath to ("Users:Daily:Documents:Properties:Birdwood Road:Solar & Battery Power:" as string)
tell application "Mail"
	set theMessage to a reference to first item of (get selection)
	if exists mail attachments of theMessage then
		set attachment_file to first mail attachment of theMessage
		set attachment_name to name of the first mail attachment of theMessage
		set theOpenedFile to open for access file (savePath & attachment_name) with write permission
		save attachment_file in savePath & attachment_name
		close access theOpenedFile
	end if
end tell
tell application "Microsoft Excel"
	activate
	open savePath & "Solar System Performance Data.xlsm"
	run VB macro "PopulateSheet"
	quit application "Microsoft Excel"
end tell
display dialog "All done!" buttons {"OK"} default button 1

Can you post a copy of your Excel spreadsheet so I can test it?

It is a complex spreadsheet tracking my solar system & battery performance. It finds a csv file attached to a selected email, saves it, then copies its contents into the said spreadsheet, moves the data around and ends up with a single line in the first sheet of the spread. All of the movement in the spread is performed by the macro, which works well independently of the script; it is the initiation of the macro that doesn’t work when I call it from the menu bar. The whole thing works when initiated from the Script Editor’s Run command. I cannot see how to attach an Excel file to this response; only pdf’s seem possible.

Since Im not an Excel macro guy, can you post a simple Excel file with a VBA macro with the same name so I can test?