Microsoft PowerPoint Trouble

Hi there,

I’m new to AppleScripting and having trouble doing two things that I think should be fairly simple.

Here is what I need to do in my script.

1. Open PowerPoint
  2. Close the initial New Project window that pops up or use this window to take care of step 3.
  3. Run the open command so that the user can select his presentation to open.
  4. Save his selected presentation as a .GIF or .JPEG (either will do)
  5. Close PowerPoint.

Steps 1 and 5 are very easy and I’ve had no problems with them.
I haven’t tried step 3 yet because I’ve been stuck elsewhere.
My big problem is with steps 2 and 4.

I’ve tried turning on GUI scripting w/ assisted devices, but for some reason, it doesn’t want to work at all on any of the school’s computers except for limited functionality within finder. This unfortunately means that I have no Mac that is accessible to me where GUI Scripting works.
Strictly speaking for step 4, I am aware that there is a documented “save as” command for PowerPoint. However, it only allows you to save as .ppt, pdf, html, or some other strange format. It is not that PowerPoint doesn’t have the ability to save as an image, it is just that the feature is not defined in the PPT dictionary. Luckily, if worse comes to worse, I think I can just save as HTML and use the images it generates for that. This does leave me with a lot of junk files however.

If anyone could help me with this problem, or lead me to how this would be coded, I would be VERY appreciative. Thanks for your time and happy scripting.

Sincerely,

Chad

Hi Chad, sadly I don’t think you are going to be able to accomplish your goal here. After some time poking around it looks like Microsoft did not implement Apple’s accessibility technology correctly. Take the script below.

set ps_file to choose file with prompt "Please select the PowerPoint file to open"
set {full_name, ext} to {name, name extension} of (get info for ps_file)